Skip to content

Things That Bugged Me About Brightest Day #0

April 14, 2010

 

Well first of all there was no Cassandra Cain and Linda Danvers (I kid but wouldn’t it be great if they showed up!)

I actually did like this issue, trust me it is the most excited I am about a weekly since 52. It was pretty great and features Anti-Didio Leaguers like Kyler Rayner, Aquaman, and Martian Manhunter…but there were a few things I would like to take the time to rant about…

 

*

Why do they keep saying that Martian Manhunter is the last surviving Martian. What about Miss Martian!? She is a white Martian but that is still a Martian right? And why the hell have we never seen these two Martians meet yet? You think Johns would remember her considering he is her creator!

*

This pretty much confirms that Aquaman’s origin has been retconned back to being a half-human instead of being just adopted by the lighthouse keeper. Seems like a completely unnecessary retcon similar to the whole John Stewart was a marine thing Johns keep pushing down our throats.

*

Speaking of Aquaman, I have been annoyed through the entire Blackest Night and here that no one has mentioned that Aquaman and Mera were fucking divorced long before he died! I get that they can fall back in love but stop pretending they had a happy-go-lucky relationship. And why no mention of Dolphin? Mera says it is great that Tula and Garth are together in death…he was married to Dolphin! I know he didn’t ever actually love Dolphin but at least give her some credit. (Probably not mentioned because she isn’t a silver age character…ugh)

*

Star City is called the most corrupt city in America…really?…more corrupt then Gotham and Vanity, I don’t think so. I like the whole forest springing up in the ruins thing and love that it’s in the shape of a star. That definitely gives Star City some character. (Speaking of fictionopolises I can not believe that DC wanted Robinson to get rid of all of their fictional cities in Cry for Justice, the fictional cities are what makes the DCU great! I smell Didio on that. I bet you it was his idea to destroy Bludhaven during Infinite Crisis too.)

*

Oh and um shouldn’t Hank Hall have been arrested the second he came back to life…he was Extant remember!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Frank permalink
    April 23, 2010 2:56 am

    Yes. All of that. I’m especially sick of the Jarhead Stewart business, forgetting he’s also an architect and intellectual. Was Dolphin from the Bronze Age? She might have been late Silver, but I’d have to double check.

    • July 14, 2010 8:47 pm

      Frank, you are right! I guess she is from the silver age. For some reason, I was thinking she was created by Peter David in the ’90s haha my bad.

Leave a Reply

